Monday, December 11, 2023
HomePolitics‘Would love a ghar wapsi’: 2 Tripura BJP MLAs resign from party,...

‘Would love a ghar wapsi’: 2 Tripura BJP MLAs resign from party, likely to join Congress

Guwahati: Two Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs, Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Kumar Saha, quit the party Monday and subsequently submitted their resignations to the assembly speaker.

Barman has for some time been at loggerheads with Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and has been leading a dissident camp within the party. 

“I resigned because there is no rule of law in the state. All democratic institutions are being destroyed. A reign of terror has been let loose in Tripura. There is no development,” Barman told ThePrint.

Saha said that he, along with other legislators, had approached the BJP central leadership multiple times over their grievances. 

“The CM doesn’t know how to rule the state, he has no experience and he doesn’t understand the people of the state…we told the leadership that it was only logical to drop the CM,” Saha added. “We told them to either let go of him or we will take a decision.”

On the widespread speculation that other BJP MLAs might also resign, Saha said, “There are many who want to resign.”

Barman added that “people have lost complete faith in the government”.

“I am in politics because of the people of the state and don’t see any point hanging on in a party that has lost people’s trust. It’s an anti-people government and are just concerned about their own interest,” he said.

Asked which party he plans to join, Barman told ThePrint, “Hopefully, the Congress. I would love to see a ghar wapsi.” 

Barman and Saha were previously with the Congress, which they quit in 2016 to join the Trinamool Congress, before joining the BJP in 2017. The BJP formed its first government in the state the following year.

Saha and Barman are currently in New Delhi, where they are reported to have sought a meeting with the Congress leadership. 

ThePrint contacted Tripura Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakrabarty regarding the status of their resignation via phone calls, but received no response till this report was published. Calls to Tripura BJP spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharjee Monday evening didn’t elicit a response either.

Also read: Not BJP or TMC, the real story of Tripura’s civic poll numbers was near-decimation of Congress 

Yet more resignations

In the 2018 Tripura assembly elections, the BJP won 36 of the 60 assembly seats. The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) won eight, while the CPI(M) won 16. 

In July last year, Brishaketu Debbarma, an MLA from IPFT — BJP’s coalition partner — resigned and subsequently joined the Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance led by Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman, the scion of the erstwhile Tripura royal family.

A few months later, BJP MLA Ashish Das joined the TMC, following which he was disqualified under the anti-defection law.

(Edited by Saikat Niyogi)

Also read: Tripura cops, govt lacked ‘integrity’ in handling communal incidents, media: Editors Guild report

Source: The Print

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments